500 E. San Antonio
Suite 101
El Paso, Texas 79901
Phone (915) 546-2143
Fax (915) 546-2019
mbanales@epcounty.com

Council of Judges Administration

  • Standard Bond Settings
  •  
  • Adopted January 30, 1995
  •  
  • The following is the suggested Standard Bonds to be set in El Paso County, Texas:
  •  
  • 1. Defendant is a local resident. (El Paso, Southern New Mexico)
  • 2. No known facts that the Defendant would flee the Jurisdiction.
  • 3. Foreign Nationals (with documents) 2 X locals
  • 4. Foreign Nationals (without documents) 4 X locals
  • 5. Non-locals U.S. 2 X locals
  •  
  • Additional factors that increase Base Bond:
  • Injury to Victim not element of offense add 25% for minor, 100% for major injury
  •  
  • Additional factors that reduce bond:
  • Under 18 years of age may reduce by 50%
  • Over 70 years of age may reduce by 50%
  • Weak Case reduce by amount of weakness
  • Unusual strong ties to community
  •  
  • General Rules:
  • All class B Violations $ 300
  • All class A Violations $ 750
  • ALL third degrees - No priors $ 1,500
  • One prior $ 3,500
  • Two priors $ 10,000
  • All second degrees - No Violence $ 3,500
  • Priors $ 7,500
  • All First Degrees - No Violence $ 7,500
  • Priors $ 10,000
  • Note:Prior must be shown by rap sheets, not hearsay.
  • No rap sheet, no priors.
  • On any case where the Magistrate is doubtful about the amount of Bond to set, or of background of the defendant, add $10,000 P.R. to be filed by the Probation Department after investigation. See attached special condition available.
  • Please leave Criminal Law Magistrate note if Bond Schedule is not followed; giving name, d.o.b., offense, and reason not followed.
  •  
  • Murder
  • 1. Capital: No bond
  • 2. Non Capital $ 10,000 (Where there was a defense apparent)
  •   $25,000 (No Defense)
  •   $50,000 Possible Further Violence
  •  
  • Drug Cases: Possession and Delivery:
  • 1. Misdemeanors as per general rules
  • 2. Felonies:
  •   Marijuana 2ND Degree 5-50 lbs $ 5,000 - $15,000
  •   Marijuana 1ST Degree 50-200 lbs $ 30,000
  •   Marijuana Agg Amt over 200 lbs $ 60,000
  •  
  • Hard Drugs:
  • Under 28 grams except LSD 2ND Degree
  • L.S.D.:
  • O/28 Grams under 400 grams $ 25,000
  • Over 400 Grams $ 50,000
  •  
  • Illegal Investment
  • Illegal Investment under 50,000 $ 15,000
  • Illegal Investment over 50,000 $ 30,000
  • Illegal Investment over 100,000 $ 60,000
  •  
  • Assaults:
  • 1. Class A Non-Family $ 600
  • 2. Class 1 Family $ 1,000
  • 3. Assault on P.O.
  •    No Injury $ 1,500
  •    Some Injury $ 5,000
  •    Real Injury $ 10,000
  • 4. Weapons (Double)
  • 5. Felony Assaults
  •    Not Bad Injury $ 2,500
  •    Bad Injury $ 5,000
  •    Serious Injury $ 7,500
  •  
  • Robbery:
  • A. No Weapon - No Injury $ 5,000
  • B. No Weapon - Some Injury $ 7,500
  • C. Weapon Shown $ 10,000
  • D. Weapon Used - No Injury $ 25,000
  • E. Weapon Used - Injury $ 50,000
  •  
  • Sexual Offense:
  • A. Exposure $ 1,500
  • B. Touching:
  •   Adult Victim $ 5,000
  •   Child Victim $ 7,500
  • C. Penetration or Injury:
  •   Adult Victim $ 7,500
  •   Child Victim $ 15,000
  • D. Forced Penetration:
  •   Adult Victim $ 25,000
  •   Child Victim $50,000
  •  
  • Burglary:
  • A. Building $ 3,000
  • B. Habitation $ 5,000
  • C. Non Theft $ 10,000
  •  
  • DWI:
  • No Accident $ 600
  • No Accident add for each prior DWI $ 400
  • Accident w/o Injury $ 1,000
  • Add for each prior DWI $ 500
  • Accident with Serious Injury $ 2,500
  • Add for each prior DWI $ 1,000
  •  
  • Traffic Offenses:
  • All Class B Traffic Offense w/o Accident $200
  • All Class B Traffic Offenses w/ Accident $400
  • No Increase for Habituals
  •  
  • Vice:
  • Misdemeanors $200
  • Felony: Use General Felony Rules
  •  
  • FFJ:
  • No bond