Tax Assessor Collector
Ruben P. Gonzalez
301 Manny Martinez Dr., 1st Floor
El Paso, Texas 79905
Texas Deparment of Motor Vehicles
Texas Department of Public Safety
El Paso Central Appraisal District
City of El Paso
Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts
Delinquent Tax/Collectors Firm
YOU MUST BE A RESIDENT OF EL PASO COUNTY WHEN TITLING OR REGISTERING A VEHICLE IN EL PASO COUNTY
- Current Texas Driver's License
- Current Texas Gun Concealed Permit License (showing County address)
- Current Utility Bill (Gas, Electricity, Water, Telephone-Landline only)
- Valid unexpired Texas Voter Registration card
- Rental/Lease agreement with signature of the owner/Landlord and the tenant/resident
- Notarized affidavit of residency (signed by both lessor/lessee)
- Current Deed or title to residential real property
- Monthly Mortgage statement
- Property Tax Bill
- Income Tax Return
Buying / Selling a Vehicle
- For a small fee and security of mind, check status of title at:
http://www.txdmv.gov/motorists/buying-or-selling-a-vehicle/title-check-look-before-you-buy to the vehicle you want to purchase to find out if it is salvaged, rebuilt, or was damaged in a flood. This is one of the most important steps you can take to protect yourself before making your purchase. Or,
You may visit any of the Tax Office Branches and/or Full Service Contracted Offices and a representative can tell you if the title being signed over to you is correct and if it has any salvage or legal issues.
Make sure the private individual selling the vehicle, their name is on the face of the title and properly assigned to you on back of title on the first assignment. If it is not, then you will need to contact the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles to obtain instructions as to how to properly title and register into your name.
To apply for title and registration, the following documents are to be submitted to any of the County Tax Office/Branches or Contracted Offices within 20 working days from the date of sale to avoid penalties. Not titled/transferred within 20 working days, application is subject to delinquent transfer penalties of $25 if filed on the 31st day after the date of sale; and an additional $25 for each subsequent 30 day or portion of a 30 day period, not to exceed $250 (except military, delinquent after 61 days).
Purchases from Texas Licensed Dealers: If buying a vehicle from a licensed motor vehicle dealer, by Texas law, the selling dealer is required to complete and file all documents necessary to transfer title to the motor vehicle and/or register the motor vehicle in the name of the purchaser within 30 days from the date of sale. In addition, the dealer must collect and remit any applicable sales tax to the County Tax Assessor-Collector's Office. Make sure the dealer provides you with a Title Application Receipt showing the vehicle has been titled in your name. Should you encounter a problem with the dealer not complying with this requirement, please contact the Enforcement Division at (915) 771-2332 for assistance.
NOTE: No later than the fifth day after the date the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles receives an application for a title from the County Tax Office, will a title be issued to the first lienholder or to the applicant if a lien is not disclosed on the application. If you have not received your title within 30 business days, please contact the El Paso Department of Motor Vehicles Regional Service Center at (915) 594-6000.
Selling a vehicle:
Military Title & Registration, Enforcement
Initial Military Title & Registration Process:
Step 1 - If you are applying for a Texas title and registration you will need:
Step 2 - Complete an Application for Texas Title and/or Registration (Form 130-U).
Step 3 - All vehicles must pass a Texas Safety Inspection and the vehicle identification number must be verified by a TxDPS authorized safety inspection station before applying for Texas title and/or registration. Therefore, must obtain and submit an original Vehicle Inspection Report (VIR) issued by a Texas State vehicle inspection station, OR complete and submit a Vehicle Identification Number Certificate (Form VTR-270).
Step 4 - Vehicle Inspection Report (Form 68A) is required and may be obtained by contacting the Enforcement Division @ 771-2332 to schedule an appointment.
Step 5 - Proof of military service or Leave and Earnings Statement (LES).
Step 6 - Obtain insurance on the vehicle that meets the state’s minimum requirements (30/60/25). "No fault" insurance is not valid proof of financial responsibility in Texas. However, proof of financial responsibility from out of state or out of country is acceptable if the insurance company is licensed to do business in Texas and reflects the above minimum amounts. You will be required to furnish the declarations page for registration purposes.
Step 7 - Weight Certificate from a certified weight station if the vehicle is a commercial vehicle in excess of one (1) ton (exceeding 10,000lbs), trailer or semitrailer. (If applicable)
• Driver's license or state identification issued by a state or territory of the U.S.
• U.S. or Foreign passport
• U.S. military identification card
Step 8 - Fees:• Registration fee for passenger car or truck (6,000lbs or less) $50.75
Important Notes Military personnel stationed within Texas may display on their vehicles current license plates from their state of legal residence OR current license plates from the state of their last duty station, subject to the following conditions:
Texas Legislature has approved the creation of 47 new military license plates which will have new designs and feature military emblems. These new plates recognize veterans' combat and non-combat era service and will display the award that the veteran received. Please click on the poster above to access the web page with the full list of military plates available. Select your plate of choice to view the fees, application, and instructions on how to apply for the selected license plate. Complete the required application and submit to one of our four County Tax Assessor-Collector Branch Offices along with your DD-214.
Disabled Veteran Eligibility & Disabled License Plates
Texas residents, who are veterans of the U.S. Armed Forces, and who, because of military service, receive compensation from the Federal Government for a service-connected disability of at least 50% or at least 40% due to the amputation of a lower extremity are entitled to receive Disabled Veteran (DV) license plates. The fee for the first set of DV license plates is $3 (no annual registration fee required). Additional sets may be obtained for the regular annual registration fee and other applicable fees as required. These plates may also be personalized with up to four characters for an additional $40.
Vehicles display such plate, must be used for the veteran's own personal use and: Titled in Texas, or issued an RPO in the name of the veteran (joint ownership is allowed). If titled in a name other than that of the veteran, the veteran must have the legal right of possession and control of the vehicle; and it must operate for the veteran's own personal use. If the veteran has a leased vehicle, the county will verify the lease agreement.
The words “Disabled Veteran U.S. Armed Forces” appears at the bottom of each license plate.
For each set of DV plates issued, the applicant may also obtain a disabled parking placard. The Application for Persons with Disabilities Parking Placard and/or License Plate, Form VTR-214 is not required.