El Paso County Commissioner Pct. 1

Commissioner Leon Honors Principal Dana Boyd from East Point Elementary

Commissioner Leon presented Principal Boyd with a resolution on May 23, 2016 for her acknowledgment as the 2016 Texas National Distinguished Principal of the Year award. Dana Boyd has been a distinguished leader for the Ysleta Independent School District and the proud principal at East Point Elementary for the past five years.

Principal Boyd, an educator for 17 years and a former Texas Teacher of the Year has been named the 2016 National Distinguished Principal for the state of Texas. Mrs. Boyd prevailed over eight finalists from around the state for this prestigious award by remaining a strong candidate through a challenging competition, and will represent Texas at the National Distinguished Principals program in Washington D.C. this coming October. The National Distinguished Principals program honors principals who demonstrate exemplary character and provide exceptional quality of the education to children throughout the school year.

Congratulations Principal Boyd!